Keftedes (Greek Meatballs)

My husband and I LOVE meatballs. We could probably eat meatballs every week and never get tired of them. Now, I am Greek [thought I’d clear up any confusion since it’s not obvious or anything] and my husband is Italian so we both grew up eating lots of very different (but equally delicious) home cooked meals. His favorite is his mothers spaghetti gravy with meatballs and sausage. Spaghetti and meatballs has never been a dish that I enjoyed, until I tried my mother in law’s. When we moved into our house, I had her show me how to make it while the men worked on manly house things. It is now a staple Sunday night dinner in our house. 

One night, I decided to make my moms meatballs instead and I was very worried how my husband would respond given his fondness of his mothers. Much to my surprise he loved them! He even takes them to work to share with his coworkers. There really is nothing better than your husband bragging about the food you make. We have now worked these into the Sunday night dinner rotation. 

I can’t tell you how much I love these meatballs! They are even delicious cold, right out of the refrigerator (and I don’t eat ANYTHING right out of the refrigerator). This recipe calls for a lot of parsley and mint which actually makes these even better the next day after all of the ingredients have a chance to meld. I also try to start the meat mixture early so I can refrigerate the mixture for a few hours before forming the meatballs. 

I often serve these with home made tzatziki and Greek style oven roasted potatoes [recipes to follow].

Ingredients

2 lbs meatloaf mix1 large tomato grated

1 large onion grated

4-5 cloves garlic minced

1 cup chopped fresh parsley

2 eggs

1 cup bread crumbs

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

9-10 mint leaves chopped

1 Tbsp salt

1 Tsp pepper 

2 Tbsp Oregano

•In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and mix well

•Refrigerate mixture for at least 2 hours (optional)

•Roll your meatballs, mixture should make anywhere between 35-40 meatballs depending on the size

•Heat oil, make sure you have enough oil that will cover half of the meatball

•Place meatballs in the pan and flatten them a little so that they are covered half way

•Fry over medium/medium-high until cooked through. They should be very dark.

One thought on “Keftedes (Greek Meatballs)

Leave a Reply

